• The Reading Life
  • Posts
  • đź“š How to Give Yourself More Weekends and Be More Productive at the Exact Same Time

đź“š How to Give Yourself More Weekends and Be More Productive at the Exact Same Time

Rethink the 7-day week, boost your productivity, and escape the hustle

YOUTUBE 📚 THE COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE 📚 PATREON

đź“š Hey, good evening!

If you’re anything like me, you hate to lose knowing that you could have done more to win.

That you could have tried harder, worked longer…given more of yourself to achieve your chosen objective.

I also hate being reminded that working longer hours isn’t necessarily the answer to becoming more productive (often, it’s the opposite, as you’ll soon see) - especially since I know it’s true but can’t seem to make myself believe it.

So, recently, after reading a great little book by Linda Morgi called 3 On 2 Off (more on that later), I made some changes to my work schedule in a sort of “experiment” to see how it would affect my productivity.

I just met Linda this year, but I was EXTREMELY impressed with her commitment to health and wellness, her knowledge of the fitness space, and her genuine desire to help people live better and with less stress.

And I really had to do something, because I realized that what I had been pushing myself to do wasn’t sustainable.

See, I still want to be slinging book recommendations for the next 100 years or more, so burning out serves no purpose.

There’s literally no point to it.

I’m going to be here, working, sharing great books for a long, long time, and some changes to my routine were in order.

Specifically, I decided to give myself more “weekends.” Here’s how you can do the same - AND increase your productivity at the exact same time. Read on…

Observe the following photo:

You may have to turn your phone (or your head) slightly to the side :)

But as you can see, switching to the 3 On, 2 Off system that Morgi advocates for gives you 6 “weekends” per month instead of just four.

Myself, I slightly modified this system so that I’m working FLAT-OUT on Monday and Tuesday, resting COMPLETELY on Wednesday, coming back at it on Thursday and Friday, wrapping up loose ends and preparing for the week ahead on Saturday, and taking Sunday completely OFF.

That’s my schedule right now, and I’ve been loving it!

Check out the following photo:

What Morgi is pointing out is that people who work 60+ hours per week (I used to count myself among them) actually DO get more done - at first.

But that’s before the precipitous decline past the 4-week mark.

Think of it like a car engine red-lining in the parking lot for minutes on end while the driver has their foot on the brake at the same time.

You’re literally burning out.

This makes perfect sense when you think of how this might play out in the gym setting too. It works exactly the same way, which is kinda cool:

You don’t lift heavy shit the entire time you’re there; no, you perform one set, and then you rest. Then you perform another set, then rest again.

Effective workouts aren’t just one giant set! They’re composed of a series of sets and rest periods.

The logic is simple.

Give yourself more rest periods = increase your productivity.

I’ve got a little ways to go before I can “officially” declare my productivity experiment a success, but I certainly like the path I’m on now, and I have been getting more done in the weeks since I’ve applied Linda’s methodology.

I’m also happier and feel less worn out, especially since I’m not working “a little bit” for 7 days a week, but working insanely hard for about 4 days a week, working moderately hard for one, and taking 2 days completely off.

There are all sorts of ways you can modify this method to suit more traditional work schedules.

But if you work for yourself like I do, you can implement it pretty much immediately and witness incredible results.

So yes, I definitely recommend checking out 3 On, 2 Off, by Linda Morgi and I’ve teamed up with her to offer my followers/readers (you!) something special if you decide to buy the book:

For everyone who buys the book and sends me a screenshot of their receipt, I will send you a FREE online course that will help you actually IMPLEMENT the strategies in the book.

Introducing...

The "3 On 2 Off" Online Course:

Step-by-step help to implement the system so you can work less, but get more done.

Learn How To:

*Choose the right 3 on 2 off model for your situation
*Get step-by-step guidance on how to implement the 3 On, 2 Off system
*Increase your work efficiency so you can take more time off.

The course (that you're getting for FREE) includes 9 modules that will guide you through a step-by-step implementation.

We will be covering:

Module 1: Introduction & Choosing Your Workweek Model
Module 2: What Will Make You Successful: Batching & Pruning
Module 3: What Will Be Different?
Module 4: Pruning Meetings
Module 5: How to Go MIA in the Middle of the Week
Module 6: Planning Your Week & MITs
Module 7: Batching Similar Tasks
Module 8: Finding a Hobby
Module 9: The End - Or Is It?

You can also find a one-page overview of how to implement the 3:2 workweek within the course as well.

After you buy the book, you can either reply to this email with a photo of your receipt, or you can send me a DM on Instagram and I’ll send you the link to the free course.

That’s it! I hope you found these productivity tips helpful, and I’ll be back with even more books for you very soon!

With that said, I hope you enjoyed this edition of The Reading Life, and enjoy the rest of your day!

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Whenever you're ready, here are two more ways I can help you apply the wisdom found in the greatest books ever written to your life:

  1. I've released 50 complete, in-depth book breakdowns on the Stairway to Wisdom that respect both your time AND your intelligence and will help you become the person you've always known you were capable of being. Read them for free here.

  2. Join The Competitive Advantage to be surrounded by a healthy and happy community of winners and high achievers. Weekly insights and ideas on building a strong mind, a fit body, and a healthy bank account. Sign up for free right here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.