The Success System That Never Fails, by W. Clement Stone

“When you go for something, don’t come back until you get it.”

📚 Hey, good evening!

The author of today’s book left a fortune of $275,000,000 to charity after he died, and he was one of the greatest salesmen of the 20th century.

So, yeah, of course I wanted to read his book!

It’s called The Success System That Never Fails, by W. Clement Stone, and I ended up with 3 full pages of notes!

The language is a little dated, as I mention in the summary below (I mean, it came out in 1962 - literally no one talks like that anymore), but the sales and business advice is timeless, and anyone with that kind of generous heart is someone we can all learn from.

Below, I share a short summary of The Success System That Never Fails, as well as my best book notes, along with some additional recommended reading.

There are lots of incredible insights to be found in this book, so let’s get into it!

If you’re looking for a book that will teach you extremely effective, evergreen sales strategies, while developing your business acumen, and making you a better person at the same time, then you might like…

As always, my book notes and summary for this book are available on my Patreon, as well as my personal notes from more than 1,200+ other books. Updated monthly.

The support I’ve received on Patreon over the years has been nothing less than incredible. It honestly just started out as a way to make some extra money, but it’s become so much more than that.

First off, I want to mention two of my biggest supporters by name, Jeremy Steingraber and Paul Phillips!

Everyone’s support helps, of course, but to have someone believe in me and my work to the extent that they do is just…I can’t even put it into words without swearing haha.

I appreciate the hell out of everyone who supports me on Patreon, which is basically what I’m saying, and I want to help you out too by sharing my best book notes and summaries on there for you to enjoy and profit from.

There are plenty of other cool rewards available too, but the main thing is that you get more than 1,200+ summaries and thousands of pages of book notes for just $1! 

They’re updated monthly with all the new books I’ve been reading and taking notes on, but I do have to say that my earliest book notes need to be updated, and I’m working on that.

Just to be fully upfront with you guys.

I mean, they’re very good, but my notes from 2020 onwards are much more in-depth and complete than the ones from, say, 2015.

Back then, I was taking notes just for myself, but now I have to go back and make sure that other people can navigate them easily as well!

I should have them all updated by the end of the year, though, and my latest reads are updated monthly.

That was kind of a long explanation, but again, thank you to everyone for either supporting me on Patreon or even considering doing so, and you can click here for my complete notes from today’s book and more than 1,200+ other books too.

Happy reading!

Forget the lame title (the book came out in 1962), this guy left $275,000,000 to charity after he died, so it’s pretty safe to assume that you and I can probably learn a thing or two about a thing or two from him.

The Success System That Never Fails is something of an autobiography, and it actually contains most of what we know about Stone’s life. It begins with his early life, selling newspapers on the street and eventually having a “breakthrough” when he discovered that the real money was in selling to people inside restaurants.

At first, the owners and managers tried to shoo him away, but he slowly won them over with his politeness, persistence, and because of the fact that most of the restaurant patrons had no objections to this ambitious young man trying to make his way in the world! It’s a style he adopted all his life, and, hey, I mean $275 million dollars later, here we are!

Obviously, since it was written in 1962, he talks exactly the way you think he would, with this old-time-y, “Dale Carnegie-esque” earnestness. So the language is a little dated, but the sales and business knowledge is timeless!

Hunter S. Thompson would have hated the guy for how much he donated to Richard Nixon’s presidential campaign, but there’s no political stuff in here! It’s all honest, natural, wholesome, and effective sales advice that is very well worth learning.

Stone was clearly one of the greatest salesmen of the 20th century, with a decency and a genuine desire to help and be of service which is evident in everything he wrote. There’s plenty still to learn from this little book.

“When you go for something, don’t come back until you get it.”

“In the end, your environment will control you; therefore, make sure that you control your environment. Avoid situations, acquaintances, and associates who tend to hold you back.”

“I tried to make one hour do the work of many, just as I tried to make one dollar do the work of many.”

“It’s a universal law: It takes more energy to overcome inertia in getting started from a standstill than to continue the momentum of a moving body when it is once in motion.”

“For some reason, he reported this to the principal, who called me to his office. He endeavored to prove that the time he spent talking to me cost the city of Detroit money - several hundred dollars per minute.

‘Money?’ I thought to myself. ‘Why, my earning capacity as a salesman is far greater than my teacher’s!’

So instead of motivating me to do what he wanted - not argue with the teachers in the future, his logic caused a reverse reaction. I quit school, and if his logic is correct, Detroit saved thousands of dollars, for I never talked to the principal again.”

“I believe it is desirable for each of us early in life to decide what he would do if life ever seemed to be not worth living. I know I did. My decision: Should my life ever be worth nothing to me, it could at least be worth much to others.”

“Sales are contingent upon the attitude of the salesperson, not the attitude of the customer.”

“Don’t take the first step in the wrong direction.”

“Remember: The essence of a living philosophy is that it must be alive. To be alive, it must be lived. To be lived, you must act! Actions, not mere words, determine the validity of a man’s living philosophy.”

“When you share, the remainder multiplies and grows.”

“You can motivate another person to do what you want when you give him an opportunity to get what he wants.”

“We learned through them that no matter how little you had, you were fortunate to share it with others.”

-Michael V. DiSalle

“Rate of growth is figured in percentages. If sales were $100,000 two years ago and $200,000 last year, the rate of growth was 100 percent. If sales totaled $300,000 this year, the rate of growth has dropped to 50 percent! What a drop! If the rate of growth continues to drop at this rate, there is trouble ahead. Always figure growth in percentages!”

“There is an old Hindu legend stating that when the gods were making the world, they said:

‘Where can we hide the most valuable of treasures, so that they will not be lost? How can we hide them so that the lust and greed of men will not steal or destroy them? What can we do to be assured that these riches will be carried on from generation to generation for the benefit of all mankind?’

So in their wisdom they selected a hiding place that was so obvious it wouldn’t be seen. And there they placed the true riches of life, endowed with the magic power of perpetual self-replenishment.

In this hiding place these treasures can be found by every living person in every land who follows the success system that never fails. The True Riches of Life are Hidden in the Hearts and Minds of Men.”

Currently, I don’t have a complete breakdown of The Success System That Never Fails published on the Stairway to Wisdom (my library of expert book breakdowns), but below I’ve listed some similar breakdowns that you may enjoy instead.

When you become a member of the Stairway to Wisdom, you’ll gain access to more than 100+ book breakdowns like these ones here, as well as a premium weekly newsletter that will help you build the kind of life for yourself that you’ll love living.

By wanting to become rich, you are also saying that you want to accept the challenge to be better at making money than 99 percent of the people on this planet. Just by attempting this, you are going to have to accept the fact that you must not just be good, you must be incredible. Are you ready?

37-Minute Read | 9,800 Words

Doing well in school has very little to do with how successful you become. In this new economy, the biggest factor in your success will not be abstract, academic learning but whether you develop the real-life success skills evinced by the people on these pages, and how early you do.

33-Minute Read | 8,600 Words

Never before collected in one place, this book is a valuable repository of the transformative wisdom of investing icon Naval Ravikant. He shares everything he knows about wealth and happiness, as well as what he believes is one of the most important skills.

29-Minute Read | 7,500 Words

That’s it! I hope you found these book recommendations helpful, and I’ll be back with even more books for you very soon!

Mere “information” is everywhere today, but what’s going to separate you (and give you the life you desire) is consistent, meaningful action, backed up with the most powerful ideas from the greatest books ever written.

That’s what I aim to provide you with.

With that said, I hope you enjoyed this edition of The Reading Life, and enjoy the rest of your day!

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Whenever you're ready, here are three more ways I can help you apply the wisdom found in the greatest books ever written to your life:

  1. You now have the option of working with me personally, and my first priority is to serve the people on my private email list. That’s you!

    Simply head to this page if this is something you're interested in working with me on, and I'll let you know more about it, answer all your questions, etc. Click here to apply!

  2. I've released 50 complete, in-depth book breakdowns on the Stairway to Wisdom that respect both your time AND your intelligence and will help you become the person you've always known you were capable of being. Read them for free here.

  3. Join The Competitive Advantage to be surrounded by a healthy and happy community of winners and high achievers. Weekly insights and ideas on building a strong mind, a fit body, and a healthy bank account. Sign up for free right here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.