How to Trick Your Brain Into Doing Hard Things

YOUTUBEĀ šŸ“šĀ THE COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGEĀ šŸ“šĀ PATREON

Read on The Reading Life.com | Read Time: ~3 Minutes

šŸ“š Hey, letā€™s talk about how to trick your brain into doing hard things.

In my latest YouTube video, I share one priceless passage from a must-read business book that just came out:

Something I donā€™t mention in the video though is another incredibly potent tip for tackling big challenges, and it has to do with what I call "reference experiences.ā€

These are specific times in your life that you can look back on where you acted exactly the way you needed to, where you crushed it - and where you succeeded SPECTACULARLY.

You need to build up as many reference experiences as you can, because then, no matter what else you come up against in your life, you can think back to that time when you were DANGEROUS AF and you can bring that energy back into what you're attempting now.

Personally, some of my reference experiences include:

*Winning my last heavyweight boxing fight by unanimous decision

*Scrolling through the list of 1,250+ books that Iā€™ve read in my life

*Conducting podcast interviews with world-famous authors

*Effortlessly shifting gears while driving my Porsche down the highway

And so many more. Really, I could list dozens and dozens, and looking back on them ALWAYS help me succeed in the present.

For yourself, you just look back and think:

ā€œIā€™ve been here before. Iā€™ve DONE THIS beforeā€¦And I can do it again.ā€

Hereā€™s the YouTube video again if you want to learn more about tricking your brain into doing hard things.Ā 

Iā€™d also like to introduce you to my friend Jamie Northrup from Minimalist Hustler and star member of The Competitive Advantage community.

Speaking of crushing it in online business, Jamie is a brilliant person to learn from and he teaches a lot of what he knows over on Twitter.

Also worth reading is Jamieā€™s list of 100 online business-related tasks he wants to complete in 2024. Heā€™s well on his way, and I wouldnā€™t bet against him.

If you want to connect with Jamie:

Now, there wonā€™t be an email going out tomorrow, but Iā€™ll be back with more book recommendations on Wednesday!

Forward this to a friend you think would love this book!

If you were sent this,Ā click hereĀ to subscribe.

To read past editions,Ā click here.

ā€‹Click hereĀ to recommend The Reading Life on Twitter (X).

What, you STILL havenā€™t watched my latest YouTube video?! Here it is again.

Also coming very soon is my podcast interview with CEO of Scribe Media (and author of The Almanack of Naval Ravikant and The Anthology of Balaji), Eric Jorgenson.

Iā€™ll be releasing clips from the podcast on my YouTube channel before it comes out, but members of The Competitive Advantage will get access to it a week before everyone else.

Same with every podcast episode going forward!

Just another reason why you might want to consider becoming a member.

Until next time thoughā€¦happy reading!

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Whenever you're ready, here are five more ways I can help you:

  1. Work with me personally to take control of your schedule, grow your business, and enhance your learning, performance, and productivity

  2. Become a Premium Member of The Reading Life and enjoy exclusive, early access to new posts and videos, plus discounts on all my courses and memberships

  3. These are 50 of the greatest books Iā€™ve ever read (out of more than 1,200+), along with complete breakdowns of all the key ideas

  4. Get my summaries and book notes from all 1,200+ books

  5. Join The Competitive Advantage, my private mastermind for creators, entrepreneurs, and executives, and achieve your 5-year goals in 6 months

Join the conversation

or to participate.