Winning the Moment, by Cody Adent

"Stop looking for the 'I'll be happy when' moments."

YOUTUBE 📚 THE COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE 📚 PATREON

đź“š Hey, good evening!

When you look back on your life, you can probably identify dozens of important moments that changed everything.

Me, I can name several just off the top of my head:

*The moment when I had my hand raised in my first Canadian heavyweight boxing fight and was declared the winner in a match that would show me from that day forward that I was capable of becoming a winner.

*The moment when I finished reading my 1,000th book and thus closed the circle on an important goal I had been reaching toward for a decade.

*The moment when I realized that I would never be able to return to work at the job that had defined my weekends for the last 13 years (long story there for another time!).

*The moment when I met my friend Jon Brooks in real life and realized that lifelong friendships could start between people separated by an ocean and that the pool for potential friendships spans the entire globe.

There are more, of course, but this email isn’t about me.

It’s about YOU, and Cody Adent’s new book, Winning the Moment. 

I’ve been standing behind Cody, helping him achieve success with his book for months now, and I wanted to send you this note about the book because he is HOURS away from becoming - officially - a bestselling author and YOU can help make that happen.

His book deals with the universal human experience of being faced with the immense pressure (yet also the total possibility) offered to us by the present moment.

What do you do with it?

How can you make sure you don’t waste it?

If you do fall short in this moment, how can you get back up the next?

If you string a multitude of successful moments together, what is it possible to achieve?

I reviewed the book on my Instagram very recently (all the bestseller deadline orders help!), but here are a few of my highlighted passages you might also find useful.

We’ll start with this one, which is about the leverage that you can create in your life by utilizing the full power of your mind.

Your mind is where everything happens. It’s where you must direct your major efforts, and continually develop your strength and focus:

Your mind is one of the few things over which we possess some real, though limited, control.

It’s one of the only things in the entire universe we have a chance of influencing or changing, and so that’s where we have to direct the majority of our efforts.

Moreover…

But one of the ever-present dangers we all face is that we get to a place where we’re comfortable, or we achieve some small victory…

And then we stop.

We don’t capitalize on the advantage we’ve won, and we also don’t congratulate ourselves for making it this far either!

We don’t consolidate our victory by celebrating it, before automatically moving on to the “next big thing.” As Cody says in his book…

My favorite quote on that page?

“A loss is just a loss in the moment.”

One moment doesn’t have to define where you end up, and as they say, your past mistakes are bruises, not tattoos.

You can find the rest of my review on Instagram, but I’ll leave you with one final quote, which is this one:

Building unstoppable momentum is done by stacking our small victories on top of each other and using those positive feelings of success and achievement to fuel our future success and achievement.

Paradoxically, to “win the moment” you kind of have to be happy with the progress you’ve made, and you have to also make the commitment to go even further.

There are so many stories and examples in Cody’s book about how he used these principles to achieve the kind of success and fulfillment he’s experiencing today, and not only is the book worth reading, but Cody himself is a genuinely selfless, positive role model we would all do well to emulate.

His book is called Winning the Moment, and you can help make it a bestseller by picking it up today. Now :)

That’s it! I hope you found these book quotes helpful, and I’ll be back with even more books for you very soon!

With that said, I hope you enjoyed this edition of The Reading Life, and enjoy the rest of your day!

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Whenever you're ready, here are three more ways I can help you apply the wisdom found in the greatest books ever written to your life:

  1. You now have the option of working with me personally, and my first priority is to serve the people on my private email list. That’s you!

    Simply head to this page if this is something you're interested in working with me on, and I'll let you know more about it, answer all your questions, etc. Click here to apply!

  2. I've released 50 complete, in-depth book breakdowns on the Stairway to Wisdom that respect both your time AND your intelligence and will help you become the person you've always known you were capable of being. Read them for free here.

  3. Join The Competitive Advantage to be surrounded by a healthy and happy community of winners and high achievers. Weekly insights and ideas on building a strong mind, a fit body, and a healthy bank account. Sign up for free right here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.