• The Reading Life
  • Posts
  • Wisdom from Charlie Munger, Massive Book Giveaway, The Fountainhead, and More!

Wisdom from Charlie Munger, Massive Book Giveaway, The Fountainhead, and More!

YOUTUBE 📚 THE COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE 📚 PATREON

Read on The Reading Life.com | Read Time: ~5 Minutes

📚 Hey, I’m here with more books!

Today I’ve got a $33,818 book giveaway to tell you about, but first…

As you may know, Charlie Munger recently passed away at age 99, and I’m still not completely over it.

I mean, I didn’t cry or anything, but he was just such a good person: wise, thoughtful…sincere.

It’s tough not to miss a guy like that, and luckily for all of us, he left a ton of wit and wisdom behind.

So my first book recommendation today is Poor Charlie’s Almanack, written by Charlie Munger and edited by Peter D. Kaufman.

I also bring up the book in my latest YouTube video, which breaks down Charlie Munger’s best advice on how to get anything you ever wanted out of life.

It’s quite impactful when he lays it out in such simple, easy-to-understand terms, but it’s also something that so many people miss.

So check out the video to hear more about that, plus an additional book recommendation near the end of that video (it’s only 9 mins or so) that turned out to be one of the best business books I read last year.

It’s not by Charlie Munger. And it’s not an easy read, but it’s well worth it.

But okay, right. The giveaway. It’s…

MASSIVE.

420 prizes valued at $33,818 are going out to 60 winners, including allll this:

✅ 12 Months of Audible

✅ 12 Months of Calm Meditation App

✅ 12 Months of Masterclass.com

✅ Lifetime of Polar Habits Pro

✅ Lifetime Access to My Stairway to Wisdom Book Breakdowns

✅ Lifetime Access to My Time Mastery Course

✅ 5 Books Mailed Directly to You!

It’s a pretty sweet giveaway, if I may say so myself.

And I should mention that it’s going on all month long, so you have until the end of January to enter the giveaway, refer people, all that good stuff.

Speaking of The Stairway to Wisdom, I’ve also just published the first book breakdown of 2024: The Fountainhead, by Ayn Rand. 

Controversial, I know!

But as much as I hated We the Living (I audibly groaned while reading some parts of it, especially the dialogue), and I personally find parts of her philosophy kind of abhorrent, The Fountainhead is an incredible book, and it really did change everything for me back when I first read it.

Sure, it’s about 300 pages too long, many of the characters are like cardboard cutouts of real people, etc., etc., but damn it it’s a phenomenal book.

And in my free breakdown, you’ll get all the Key Ideas, Book Notes, Action Steps, and more.

Okay, what else, what else…

Right! Okay, so I’ll be welcoming Justin Glaser, the author of Sweat, for an Instagram Live this Wednesday at 2PM Eastern.

We’ll be speaking for about 30-45 mins, talking about the book and answering all your questions about your body’s hidden superpower and the ridiculous health benefits that come from getting a sweat on.

I’m still working on this month’s Patreon book notes updates, but those shouldn’t be too far away. I appreciate everyone’s patience on that as I keep up with coaching clients, update Time Mastery, publish content every day on all my social media channels, etc.

I have a very small team helping me out - and I work crazy intense hours myself right now - but hey, we get it done!

Forward this to a friend you think would love this book!

If you were sent this, click here to subscribe.

To read past editions, click here.

​Click here to recommend The Reading Life on Twitter (X).

That was a lot to throw at you all at once, but thanks for being here, and I’m excited about what 2024 has in store for us all!

Should be an epic year of reading great books, building great businesses, and designing the kinds of lives we actually love living.

Until next time…happy reading!

All the best,

Matt Karamazov

P.S. Whenever you're ready, here are six more ways I can help you:

  1. Work with me personally to take control of your schedule, grow your business, and enhance your learning, performance, and productivity

  2. My online course, Time Mastery, breaks down the 52 mindsets, strategies, and tactics I use to get so much done (33% off right now)

  3. Become a Premium Member of The Reading Life and enjoy exclusive, early access to new posts and videos, plus discounts on all my courses and memberships

  4. These are 50 of the greatest books I’ve ever read (out of more than 1,200+), along with complete breakdowns of all the key ideas

  5. Get my summaries and book notes from all 1,200+ books

  6. Join The Competitive Advantage, my newsletter for winners and high-achievers, and achieve your 5-year goals in 6 months

Join the conversation

or to participate.